Home » Government of India » State Government » Election Commission of India

Election Commission of India

November 23, 2013 | Posted in State Government
1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Election Commission of India is a sovereign, constitutionally established centralized power accountable for administering all the electoral processes in the Republic of India. As per the principles enshrined in the Constitution along with the supervision of the commission, the country has been conducting free and fair elections at regular intervals, ever since the 90s. The Election Commission has the power for direction and control of all elections to the Parliament of India and the state legislatures, power of superintendence and elections to the office of the President of India and the Vice-President of India. It consists of 2 Election Commissioners (EC) and a Chief Election Commissioner (CEC), chosen by the President of India. T.N. Seshan was the first Indian to hold the position of a Chief Election Commissioner. The Election Commission of India Contact Details has been mentioned below along with its Contact Number.

Election Commission of India Contact Details

Address: Election Commission of India
Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001
Contact Number: 011-23717391
Fax: 011-23713412
Email: feedbackeci@gmail.com

By introducing the EVM – Electronic Voting Machines, the Election Commission had tried to bring improvements in election procedures held in the nation. The EVM was initiated to reduce malpractices and also to improve the efficiency. Initially in 1982, the machine was used in Kerala as a trial session during the Legislative Assembly Elections and when it was successful, the commission took historic decision to continue with its uses. Though originally the Election Commission of India had only one Chief Election Commissioner, two additional Commissioners were appointed, for the first time on 16 October 1989. The Commission can even issue an order for prohibition of publication and disseminating of results of opinion polls (Exit Polls). In order to know the Telephone and Fax Numbers of the Election Commission pertaining to various tasks, refer the following link.


Leave a Reply


Get every new post on this blog delivered to your Inbox.

Join other followers: